I just bought a BlackBerry Curve to use for a while until I'm ready to purchase a new one and start up a new plan.

I'm exploring ways to drop my current texting package to save money (I'm a graduate student in college). Currently, I pay $10/mo for the texting and the BB data package is going to be $24/mo (20% discount).

If I could eliminate the texting, my bill would only go up $14/mo. Here are my options:
    1) Google Voice app and have friends text my GV number.
    2) Send SMS through GMail and have them reply to my email address.
    3) Bite the bullet and pay for texting

Naturally, the first two are my favorite options due to money. The people in question have unlimited, so they wouldn't be hurt by replying to my email. Will it push fast enough for it to be useful?

Any other suggestions? Thanks!
    05-15-10 03:38 PM
    I went through the same thought process as you a while ago. Eventually I just kept texting on my plan because the alternatives were more of a pain then they're worth. If you really want to save money though pick an option and try it for a month. If you can live with it then take texting off your plan.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    05-15-10 05:42 PM
    I went through the same thought process as you a while ago. Eventually I just kept texting on my plan because the alternatives were more of a pain then they're worth. If you really want to save money though pick an option and try it for a month. If you can live with it then take texting off your plan.

If I texted a large number of people, there wouldn't be a question about it. I really only text like two people that are non-BB, though.
    05-15-10 05:45 PM
    Two words: BBM.

Or failing that use email for texting. Most carriers support that so you can email <phone number>@pcs.rogers.com for instance and go right to their SMS. When they respond you receive it as an email.

Email to SMS Gateway