So maybe the OP didn't exactly strike a blow for all RIMkind, but I think he makes a good point; he didn't do anything but ask about a 9930 and this first thing the guy asks in response is about an Android. That would lead me to assume that if someone came into the store, uninformed and looking for something new, that guy wouldn't mention a BlackBerry if his life depended on it.

We know their comission is there and all reps do this, but the point stands that RIM is kinda getting d*cked. It's not like there's a rule against sales people trying to persaude someone one way or another since that is what they do for a living though.
    I'm a Blackberry fan, but if I worked in sales for Verizon or AT&T I wouldn't mention Blackberry either. Their products right now are outdated and underwhelming, and I'd be doing a customer a huge disservice by suggesting that they sign a 2-year contract for a device like the 9930/9900.
    02-09-12 09:45 AM
    And yet, if you walked into a store and the guy recommended BlackBerry, neither you nor the OP would be complaining about "biasing," so let's not pretend this is a fight against bad behavior anymore than it is a fight against different preferences.
    They would if they specifically asked to look at an iPhone or Droid and the sales rep "laughed sarcastically".
    The fact is that sales reps should keep there opinions to themselves, when a customer asks for something specific, unless asked.
    02-09-12 10:20 AM
    How do you laugh sarcastically?

When I worked at VZW I turned people away from the Storm 1 because it had so many returns.

I wouldn't recommend a BlackBerry to anyone unless they specifically wanted a keyboard, LED light and small device.
    02-09-12 10:23 AM
    How do you laugh sarcastically?

When I worked at VZW I turned people away from the Storm 1 because it had so many returns.

I wouldn't recommend a BlackBerry to anyone unless they specifically wanted a keyboard, LED light and small device.