Hello.
    This is my first post here, but I've been a lurker for quite a while now.
    I know there are probably a zillion topics on this; however I think my problem is a little unique, I will explain.

I'm a resident of Canada; currently on a three year plan with Bell. I've got a Blackberry Pearl.. however I am wanting an upgrade - I never thought I'd enjoy the blackberry brand so much.

My current service provider however only offers the Pearl, Flip, Curve and Touch Screen. However I have had my eye on the Blackberry Bold for MONTHS now. My only alternative that I can see is to purchase a Unlocked Blackberry Bold online (threw eBay or something.)

This is where I am having difficulties. I've read a few things - and they're all contradictory to each other.. but I am unsure that if I even buy an unlocked phone.. that I would be able to use it..

I guess Bell operates its phones differently.. something about CDMA that I've been reading, and you'd need to know someone that could crack the phone (However I guess that may only apply if you wanted to unlock a Bell Phone to use on another provider).

Here are my questions I guess, if someone could help me out, I'd love them forever!

- Can I purchase any unlocked Blackberry Bold from any provider, and just input my Blackberry SIM Card to use it?

- If I bought one online and it comes in the mail; what steps are needed to make it work?

- Is everything functional with a Unlocked Blackberry (ie. BBM, Email).

- I'm assuming that I would get a new PIN (because its unique to the phone) but I can keep my old number (by putting it into the phone) right?

- Roaming? Will my service provider KNOW that I've purchased a new Blackberry? Will they charge me more monthly?

As you can tell, I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to this topic.. so any help/input would be helpful. THANKS SO MUCH GUYS.
    04-24-09 09:53 AM
    Welcome to BlackBerry diskonect.