It does not stand for runtime. Microsoft has never identified what it stands for....
    This...
    I was told this by someone in a BBM group, so I searched and searched to find out for myself; however, I could not find anything at all.

At this point I will listen to anything, because I have no personal knowledge of the Surface myself. LoL.
    shn'g likes this.
    11-20-12 12:30 PM
    It does not stand for runtime. Microsoft has never identified what it stands for. Windows Runtime is a set of tools used to create software. Microsoft often abbreviates it to WinRT. Thus the confusion (and extremely poor naming convention by MS.)
    Seeing as how Micro$oft hasn't said what it stands for, isn't is plausible that it COULD stand for runtime?
    pkcable and shn'g like this.
    11-20-12 01:00 PM
    Sorry I don't find my notebook heavy and there are small cases you can put them in. I think Tablets are overhyped, and I certainly can't make use of anything like a Surface RT, Playbook, or iPad. They simply don't do enough. I use real applications for what I do on "computers," and my smartphone does everything a tablet does and more in most cases.

People are going to buy a Pro for more than a notebook to add a keyboard or whatever to it and use it like a notebook. Sorry, it boggles my mind.
    I think many agree with you.. but at the same time many want a tablet. I have my pc all set up the way I want it and all the applications I want, and still I like having a tablet and tend to reach for it more just because it is right there and nice and portable to. I don't need all the full sized applications. If I had a job that required me to have them on the go then yeah I would get a laptop. But otherwise tablets work great, and last longer on the battery
    11-20-12 06:01 PM
    A good write up
    I'm far more interested in the forthcoming x86 surface, which I might consider getting, than in the RT (which IMO was a mistake for MIcrosoft).