Recently I was out at coffee shops in my city that I KNOW have public Wifi available. I can connect to wifi at my house just fine, but when I find the coffee house's public network and try to connect, I get a message that says something like "This network uses a PIN to connect, that your Blackberry will generate." When I hit ok, it take me to a screen with a message, a group of numbers and then it counts down from 5 minutes. I have that long to connect to the network or else the request is cancelled.

I am new to Wifi with a Blackberry and I have tried every way to input this number, and it never works. Does anyone know what this is, or how to get around it and connect to the network? I'm sorry I can't remember the exact message since I am at my house and can't re-create the problem.
    01-24-10 02:15 PM
    it sounds more or less like a security for the wifi. not familiar with it, but have you considering asking the coffee shop employees to assist or inform if the aware of how to resolve the issue
    01-24-10 02:20 PM
    it sounds more or less like a security for the wifi. not familiar with it, but have you considering asking the coffee shop employees to assist or inform if the aware of how to resolve the issue
    I actually didn't think of that. I suppose I don't know what they can do exactly since there is not a problem with getting connected with a computer. Just with the blackberry, and the pin is generated by my phone and is different every time.

It's almost like there is a special way I need to input this pin but I can't figure out how. And I have tried every way possible. Just hitting the number buttons, hitting alt + the number buttons, looking at the menu, seeing if there is an actual input area I'm missing. There isn't an 'OK' button to hit, just a cancel. haha.
    01-24-10 02:25 PM
    I got the same issue, need to type in a PIN to hook up to an open network.

Apparentlym its the router that is enabled with Wi-Fi Protected Setup™