I have a dilemma. My wife and I are Realtors and we use our phones a lot. I have an HTC Mogul and my wife uses a Samsung flip phone. We are Sprint customers. We have decided to get in to the grown up business world and start using BlackBerrys. We ordered two 8830 phones late last night (Friday) so I think I can change my mind and order a different phone if I choose to. We never travel out of the country so the "World" aspect of the 8830 is a non-issue. The fact that it does not have wi-fi is somewhat troubling. The other phone that Sprint offers that we have talked about is the 8350i. Is the Direct Connect really useful? We are Google Apps users and have our gmail in our own domain name. Are both of these phone equally compatible with that type of email? Our plan includes unlimited data. Given what you experienced users know, which way would you go. Please remember, I am new to this BlackBerry environment.
    03-28-09 01:36 PM
    The 8830 is a great device, i prefer the 8330 Curve, but that's just my opinion. As far as Google goes it works phenominal on a BlackBerry, e-mails will be instantly pushed to your device by the legendary push email system which only BlackBerry has. The direct connect is nice, but you can get by without it, i say this because I have a nextel for a work phone, i really don't care for it to be honest with you. If you have anymore questions, feel free to ask away...
    03-28-09 01:42 PM
    i would personally swich providers to tmobile and get the curve 8900! awesome phone .
    03-28-09 01:44 PM
    See, I prefer a CDMA carrier to GSM, but again, that's my opinion...
    03-28-09 01:46 PM
    One suggestion I have regarding Gmail accounts on a Blackberry would be to make sure you login to your BIS accounts and set up a filter so every time you send an email from your Gmail account on a pc you don't have a copy show up in your inbox on your BB. It can be annoying when it does this.