Hi, I going to buy a blackberry storm as soon as I can get my hands on one. I own a small business which is basically just me and my gf helps me out every so often. The problem is I like to be able to go whenever I need to. I currently use Microsoft Outlook for emails, calander, contacts. I am new to blackberrys so I am wondering how I can set the system up so that my bb syncs with my outlook when emails or contacts are modified from either end....I'm assuming I need BES but I'm really not sure, any help would be appreciated, thank you in advance.

I'm not super concerned about the calender or contacts because those will sink when the phone is plugged in to the computer but email needs to be realtime.

-kyle
    11-14-08 09:20 AM
    Hi, I going to buy a blackberry storm as soon as I can get my hands on one. I own a small business which is basically just me and my gf helps me out every so often. The problem is I like to be able to go whenever I need to. I currently use Microsoft Outlook for emails, calander, contacts. I am new to blackberrys so I am wondering how I can set the system up so that my bb syncs with my outlook when emails or contacts are modified from either end....I'm assuming I need BES but I'm really not sure, any help would be appreciated, thank you in advance.

I'm not super concerned about the calender or contacts because those will sink when the phone is plugged in to the computer but email needs to be realtime.

-kyle
    You do not need the BES to do this. The BIS (data plan through your carrier) will work just fine. There is a simple email wizard that will help you out. Outlook syncs seamleesly with the BB and you can choose how the sync will work. Check out the Welcome Newbies link in my thread.
    Welcome to CB!
    11-14-08 09:24 AM
    So how does it sync and what does it sync? does my computer need to be on with outlook open all the time?

-kyle
    11-14-08 09:25 AM