Yup I'd be interested in brands and model devices. I'm just beginning to get into area of devices. I seen a few but they all had oddities to them sort of like they were built to target a certain type of user. Not quite task specific but definately weren't designed for a broad range of consumers.
    Absolutely correct. We've spent a ton programming these units for our needs and to work with our SCADA software - our engineering firm has a full time electrical engineer doing our programming (there's an interesting personality type! lol). Ours do come with XP and are designed to jump on a wifi so I'm sure you can set them up to do almost anything, and their processing power is amazing. I'll put some info together for you tomorrow when I go back to work.

mike
    07-15-08 04:19 PM
    you are both correct... I have and use a laptop and was hoping a smart phone could eliminate some of its use..what I've found in practical terms is that I can replace less of the laptop usage than what I theorized prior to buying either phone.

I can't say that I'd like the bb over a faster windows unit...they are very close, each with its own advantages - and those advantages aren't substantial enough at this point for me to say what the clear winner is (for my needs)

...I've always preferred open systems vs closed...so I'm wondering if a faster windows unit will do the trick...neither system is perfect and I guess my main conclusion is that they are a lot closer in functionality than what I read prior to buying (either!) phone.

Try the Palm Treo 800W. I don't have enough posts to give you a link but go to Treonauts.com and look for the 800W review. Treonauts is baiscally Crackberry.com for Palm users and there is a decent community there that should be able to answer any questions you might have about what the phone will and will not do.
    07-20-08 10:57 PM