Ok...this topic may, and probably has, been beat to death. But I feel the need to post it. I'm new to blackberry because my work made me switch over. I previously had a Palm Pre (and although a couple years old, it was great). Now I have a Bold 9650.

I don't understand how people can be so excited about this device. It's horrible. The internals seems like they are from 1995. The device is slow, unsophisticated and other than email, I cannot find any useful purpose for this machine. Internet speed is horrible, the phone constantly freezes up, the screen is small, the interface is antiquated and the design looks the same as it did in 2000.

Is this it? Really? Does RIM not see all of the innovations going on in the market place? My Pre was fun to use, and I enjoyed it. Now on my way to work, if I want to check the weather, I can expect a 5 minute process of the weather app loading its map/radar, etc.

The apps suck....actually, there are no apps. Even with the Pre's limited app store, at least they were easy to use.

I spend more time watching that silly little clock on the screen while the phone is "thinking" than I do using it. Yes, I know RIM is coming out with some new phones this fall, they are supposed to be better performers and more up to date. But seriously guys!!!! How can you brag about these phones???? They are horrible!!! I would give an arm and a leg to be able to get an iphone or even an android, by my work doesn't support it. How in the world can you think this is the best thing out there?

Please school me if you want because maybe there is something I am missing. But I hate this phone. Have none of you used other phones in the market?
    07-02-11 03:01 PM
    I'd have a Tour (Bold replaced it but they are very similar) and find it quite easy to use and do all the things you mentioned. It's pretty fast and it is older than the Bold you have. Weird huh.
    Last edited by southlander; 07-02-11 at 03:08 PM.
    07-02-11 03:05 PM