hey all, im new to the blackberry world, just upgraded to the curve 3g yesterday actually lol, my carrier is at&t and i had a couple questions. okay here goes, i got their $15/month 200mb plan now im able to connect to my home wifi when im just laying around, if im connected to my wifi i could surf the web without using up the alotted data per month right? also does BB app world, messenger and all that other good stuff, will att use that against my 200mb data per month too? sorry for the newbie questions but this is the first time ive had a phone with internet access and i dont wanna get zapped madddd money for going over.
    05-26-11 03:41 PM
    also does it cost money/data to use apps like my local rock station has a BB app tht i downloaded, will this use up my data to listen to their broadcasts, an other apps offered for BB.
    05-26-11 03:45 PM
    Hey welcome to crackberry!

Good newbie q.
    To answer your q. If you are connected to your wifi connection you do not get billed for data. All apps that connect through the internet should connect via wifi (might have to tweak some settings on individual apps) but the bulk of apps should work through wifi.

I would recommend that you try using your wifi connection and call your carrier after a couple of days and see how much data you have used.

Also please keep in mind that when you click the "end" button on your phone, the app is not really closed. It simply moves to the background and keeps running. This can also incur data charges if your using an app that constantly connected to the web.

Feel free to ask anymore q.s
    Were very welcoming here
    05-26-11 04:55 PM
    Just to add to what movi3king said - normal browsing won't eat up too much data, especially with the way your BB plan compresses data. But streaming video and audio will chew it up in a hurry.

Enjoy the Curve, and welcome to BlackBerry!
    05-26-11 05:24 PM
    Hey welcome to crackberry!

Good newbie q.