Terminology
    API = Application Programming Interface
    GUI = Graphical User Interface
    GHz = Gigahertz
    DNS = Domain Name Service (its what points websites to computers)

Background Info
    I've been developing for BlackBerry for over two years now. I started after the first year of my University Degree in Computer Science by writing an app that most people know as MyCart! Pro. It was my first proper software project I did from start to finish by myself. It is also the first app to generate (a fair amount) of money for me.

Since it was the first time I had done a software project on my own it took me a while to learn a lot of things about software development as a whole. The app took around 3/4 weeks to write. I chose BlackBerry as the platform to learn from because it was the phone I had at the time I started and it couldn't of been a better choice.

What I Learned
    To sum it up in one word.. everything.
    I learned a lot from the BlackBerry tutorial videos, BlackBerry forums, sample code, best practices in design and code. (And not to brag but I am now one of the top coders on my degree course).

The BlackBerry platform is just as straight forward (if not more so) than Android or iPhone to develop for. It is not difficult what-so-ever, and people that say it is are just lazy or don't know what they are doing, in my honest opinion.

The main issue? Most likely people not taking the time to learn it. The BlackBerry Java Development tools have thousands of APIs available with more coming with each OS release. People that say a BlackBerry can't do something because there isn't an API for it either didn't look carefully enough or was too lazy to write what they needed themselves.