RIM announced this new OS coming 3rd qtr. Not next year, next qtr, but fail to announce officially what devices will run it. They obviously know, why not announce it with the OS???
    As Ive said before, because they dont know. I would bet they want to support as many older devices as possible. They did they same thing with OS 5.0, there were many devices they did initial builds on that just couldnt handle it so they were dropped. But they were trying to support those devices.

Need proof?

04-29-10 08:21 PM
    I'm no engineer but it seems odd to announce an OS coming soon and not know definitively what hardware will support it at this time. Why try to make it run on a device will struggle. People may *****, but at least they will know.
    04-29-10 08:32 PM
    I'm no engineer but it seems odd to announce an OS coming soon and not know definitively what hardware will support it at this time. Why try to make it run on a device will struggle. People may *****, but at least they will know.
    When you are working with Embedded Systems (like a mobile OS) one slight change in code and go from "it works great on this old slow device" to "there is no way anyone would use this". Especially when they are trying to jazz up the OS itself. If they come up with some super amazing concept (OS feature that slices bread) just shortly before the release they just might run into a situation where an older BB won't work. It is in all our best interests to allow RIM to work on OS 6 without knowing all the details. This way they will release with the best possible product without having to compromise due to a previous statement of required hardware specs.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    04-30-10 08:42 AM
    The article on BBLeaks doesn't support your assertion of no confirmed touch screen devices. I am hoping the article is correct and the Storm2 will be supported.