I have installed a background application/service that I want to switch off ("Funambol Blackberry Sync" in this case). Taking the battery out does not prevent it starting up again in the background. I do not want to completely remove the application just turn it off periods when it is not required.

I am new to blackberries and would be grateful for any pointers.
    07-25-11 12:55 PM
    All you can really do is from within the application hit the menu key and look for a close/exit option
    07-25-11 01:54 PM
    All you can really do is from within the application hit the menu key and look for a close/exit option
    Thanks for the reply but it is a background application/service like the home application and so does not have a close/exit option. At a guess, the operating system starts and stops the background applications/services from a "list" tucked away in the depths of the phone's menus. Or perhaps in the system administrator's menus if there is such a thing.
    07-25-11 02:16 PM
    There are apps that are just dumb like that. LinkedIn is another one that always runs once it is installed. I bagged it as soon as i figured out there was no way to turn it off.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    07-25-11 02:22 PM
    There are apps that are just dumb like that.
    It is a server (and perhaps a front end to a server) that normally should run all the time. Such programs are normally started and stopped by the operating system. On Windows run services.msc, on linux click on system->administration->services and on blackberry do what?
    07-25-11 03:34 PM
    It is a server (and perhaps a front end to a server) that normally should run all the time. Such programs are normally started and stopped by the operating system. On Windows run services.msc, on linux click on system->administration->services and on blackberry do what?