Hi, Total Blackberry novice here who was spoiled by the whole Palm personal organizer approach years ago where one could enter Address Book + notes data right on your PC or laptop and then synchronize it with the PDA. Beautiful, simple, quick. With my BB, I find all the data goes to a .IPD file that I cannot open up on my PC and view on the screen, nor alter, nor add to with new names, as above, and then simply save back to the BB. What a pain in the rear end. Query please
    1) is there a simple way to view and modify the IPD data on my PC?
    2) does RIM consider the singular way of adding data by the BB keypad the elegant solution here?
    Thanks, Techphobedude
    08-28-10 12:29 PM
    I use Microsoft Outlook to sync my address book and other organizer data. You can use that to enter contacts and data via your PC and then sync back to your BB.
    08-28-10 01:28 PM
    You also can use ABC Amber BlackBerry Converter to view and convert .IPD files.
    08-28-10 01:33 PM
    Hi, Total Blackberry novice here who was spoiled by the whole Palm personal organizer approach years ago where one could enter Address Book + notes data right on your PC or laptop and then synchronize it with the PDA. Beautiful, simple, quick. With my BB, I find all the data goes to a .IPD file that I cannot open up on my PC and view on the screen, nor alter, nor add to with new names, as above, and then simply save back to the BB. What a pain in the rear end. Query please
    1) is there a simple way to view and modify the IPD data on my PC?
    2) does RIM consider the singular way of adding data by the BB keypad the elegant solution here?
    Thanks, Techphobedude
    Welcome to Crackberry.

The main reason I ditched my Palm was because of that awful piece of software that they dished out with it.

Using the BlackBerry and it's ability to Backup to an ipd file and to syn with Outlook was, for me a far better solution.