I am very new at this and trying to decide between the Bold, the Curve 8900
    or wait for the Bold 9700. My question is how do so many people end up
    with more than one Berry? There are some with 2 newer versions.
    Are they just buying outright? Just curious.

Thanks
    Last edited by Truth51; 08-23-09 at 05:31 PM.
    08-23-09 03:35 PM
    get one for discount from contract, then buying them out right when new ones are out. You can usually save yourself ~$100 or so if you wait a month after its released.
    08-23-09 03:39 PM
    In many cases, they are carrier upgrades.

After a year, the trusty old BlackBerry is eligible for an upgrade. Many of us keep the old one for a backup or convert it for testing purposes.

I am less then a month from a shiney new 8900, if I choose. Then I will have three.
    08-23-09 03:41 PM
    Buy outright for me. Or pick up used ones from fellow users.
    08-23-09 03:57 PM
    Like many, I assume, I have an obsession about the newest and greatest Blackberry. Currently, I am using the Tour and my work phone is the Bold. As a backup I have the 8830 WE. I have 3 lines on my family plan, each time one is ready for an upgrade its usually for a Berry.... I paid full retail for the 8830 WE and the Storm ($500)
    08-23-09 04:00 PM
    get one for discount from contract, then buying them out right when new ones are out. You can usually save yourself ~$100 or so if you wait a month after its released.
    I agree...........
    08-23-09 04:32 PM
    With the exception of the Bold, which was given to me, all my
    phones have been upgrades. I absolutely refuse to pay full
    retail for a phone.
    08-23-09 04:34 PM
    Love at first sight...sort of. Got the Storm...and 18 days later got the Tour...Result: Never use the Tour. It's not nearly as good as the Storm for my purposes, but I kept it anyways. I hate contracts, so I pay full retail. Canada sucks for promotions, so I paid 770 for each of my BBs.