I'm a graduate student studying marketing and I usually cringe when I see a Blackbery ad.

The "tools not toys" one is awful... but the one where they say how bad touchscreens are for typing is especially questionable... isn't BB10's launch device a touchscreen? (Please correct me if I'm wrong)

I'm a Canadian so I REALLY hope that RIM can turn it around, we need more successful companies like them here.
    04-05-12 08:37 PM
    I also find the "Tools not Toys" is kind of cheesy, however their ads aren't horrible nor are they amazing. They are kind of in the middle. (Closer to horrible, than amazing...)

Sent from my BlackBerry 9800 using the CrackBerry Forums Application
    04-05-12 09:27 PM
    Coming from a previous background in marketing, I don't give high rating to their ads.
    04-05-12 10:08 PM
    To answer your question about the keyboard vs touchscreen, you have to look at who RIM is trying to target in those ads.

My guess is that RIM is targeting current BlackBerry users ready to upgrade. The die hards (like me) who have probably said the 'tools not toys' line a hundred times before when explaining to people why they continue to use a BlackBerry.

I'm sure that when they market the first BB10 phone, they are going to be targeting Apple and Android users and have a much different strategy.
    04-05-12 10:08 PM
    Terrible commercials. Bad slogan. I really dislike the DJs one. The whole thing just annoys me in that one.

Also, at the closing of all the ads they show a little, squished Bold. Terrible.

Show the phone up close! The screen, the body, the functions.

They should put Kevin in a commercial.

At least show the phone more.
    alan510, spike12 and vrs626 like this.
    04-05-12 10:54 PM
    I'm a graduate student studying marketing and I usually cringe when I see a Blackbery ad.