A place for people who are so new, and ignorant to the vast possibilities of the Blackberry, they just don't even know where to start. like me.

Of course this is not solely for the inexperienced; this thread would be usesless without the help of advanced users.

So thank you ahead of time for your help everybody!
    03-21-09 12:44 AM
    Hi, i'm new to everything about the Blackberry, exept it's basic functions (calling, texting).
    Now i would like to delve into the more complex things such as changing OS' and adding apps. but i don't even know what an OS is on a phone; i was wondering if it was like putting the software of the bold on a curve. applications, are they free and must i use the Desktop Manager for my blackberry to apply them?
    03-21-09 12:46 AM
    OS updates are device specific - The 8310 OS is for the 8310. The 8330 OS is for that device etc etc. It is just the operating system of the phone. It is applied with Desktop Manager but soon they will be OTA (over the air) which is a nice addition....

They are free as well. The OS for your phone can be checked by hitting options>about or you could hit alt - shift - h and look for app version. If you see 4.5.xxxx then you are on the latest OS and no upgrade is needed.

If you are bored and care to learn a thing a two read up on the Blackberry 101 Lecture Series in my signature. Alot of good info in there to be learned and after reading up on some of the tutorials you will have alot more knowledge about your BB. Welcome to the site.
    03-21-09 12:55 AM
    Please read the 101 lecture first item in my signature. Welcome to crackberry!
    03-21-09 12:56 AM
    OS updates are device specific - The 8310 OS is for the 8310. The 8330 OS is for that device etc etc. It is just the operating system of the phone. It is applied with Desktop Manager but soon they will be OTA (over the air) which is a nice addition....