Ok guys, I am new to the forum, so if this is somewhere else im sorry. Heres the situation. My cell plan is through AT&T and I currently DO NOT have a data plan. Im trying to keep it that way. with that being said I am looking for a phone that can be unlocked so that I can use the wifi function without having to upgrade to a data plan/sign a new contract. Im looking at the BlackBerry Bold 9650 and I see that they have wifi. My question is can I unlock it so that I dont have to have the data plan? I know you can do this sort of thing with the i phones, but like I said, im new to all this. One more thing. Since my carrier is AT&T I have to make sure that ill be able to use my SIM card in it, so what other providers will interchange ( I have found one from T-Mobile and Sprint) Thanks!
    02-15-11 12:39 PM
    Welcome to CB.

no matter what Blackberry you have unlocked on AT&T, once the IMEI sweep detects that you have a Blackberry they will automatically add a data plan
    02-15-11 12:44 PM
    Thanks az, I didn't think you could use wifi without data.
    02-15-11 12:45 PM
    oh really? that sucks....I was really pulling for a BB....thanks guys. Any suggestions for any other phones that I could do this with that are similar?
    02-15-11 12:47 PM
    If I'm not mistaken, AT&T sweep will detect almost all smartphone IMEIs and add a data plan, so your best bet would be to use a regular phone if you don't want to risk paying for data
    02-15-11 12:52 PM
    You would need to get a "feature phone". AT&T requires data plans for all smartphones activated since September 2009. What Are The Voice And Data Plan Requirements? - Wireless Customer Agreement - Wireless from AT&T.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    02-15-11 12:54 PM
    oh really? that sucks....I was really pulling for a BB....thanks guys. Any suggestions for any other phones that I could do this with that are similar?