I used the map for the first time the other day and noticed it only gave me map quest type directions, so I started playing around with the phone and found out that I apparently didn't have the gps activated. I went into settings and then and changed GPS services to location on, but It still doesn't navigate in maps, is there a setting I have to turn on I am missing?
    12-18-08 11:01 PM
    as stated in other areas of the forum GPS only works with Blackberry maps not Google maps with Verizon, which are you trying to use? go through the GPS area below.. tons of questions answered there.... Good Luck
    12-18-08 11:21 PM
    Im using the map software that comes with the phone, its an 8330 from verizon.
    12-18-08 11:57 PM
    After you use Get Directions and enter your destination, using Where I Am, press the menu key and select Start GPS Navigation. I believe that's what you want.
    12-19-08 01:21 AM
    I used the map for the first time the other day and noticed it only gave me map quest type directions, so I started playing around with the phone and found out that I apparently didn't have the gps activated. I went into settings and then and changed GPS services to location on, but It still doesn't navigate in maps, is there a setting I have to turn on I am missing?
    What I suggest is you exit the GPS application then go to the GPS settings in Options/Advance Options/ GPS ones you tun it on you have to hit the menu key and select Refresh GPS....... Then it will lock down to the location you are.. Save settings and then reopen the GPS application... Remember to be in an open environment when using the GPS...
    12-19-08 01:42 AM
    When I go to Options>Advanced>GPS.and hit menu I do not have a "refresh GPS option". It works OK using BB Maps. I downloaded Google Maps for BB per the instructiona on Mathiaszellers site and it worked the first few times I used it (over a week) but now it only shows the closest cell tower.(Verizon)
    Julian