First of all, hello!
    This is my first post on this forum, but I have been fooling around for quite a bit

I'm new to BBs and have used this forum to help getting started and get the most out of my smartphone (you certainly dont want to use a smartphone like you would use a dumbphone do you?)

Sooo!

My BB is wi-fi enabled and my home router (WT54GS) is all good to go. I have a basic unlimited email data plan with Rogers and the bberry is set to Wi-Fi prefered.

1- If I'm at home and the bberry is connected to my wireless, do I basically get free phone calls thru IP or do I also have to pay Rogers for the data (kbps) used for the call?

If its the later, that would mean I'm paying twice for the bandwidth (1 for my ISP and 1 for Rogers's data..) and that wouldnt be cool I tell ya!

The same applies to browsing. Is it free when I'm on wi-fi or do I still pay for the data used? (given that I manually switch between edge and wifi for browsing)

2- this question is linked to the former; Do I have to have an unlimited data plan to get UMA on wifi or is it inherent to wifi usage?

Th-th-thats all folks!
    thanks!
    12-30-08 12:09 AM
    My understanding is with rogers wifi uma,
    - your web type data is free,
    - your UMA calls are considered part of your regular plan minutes
    - But if you subscribe to the rogers $15mo talkspot plan, your calls are unlimited.

For me rogers talkspot is not worth $15mo, if I am near my wifi I'm also near Skype on my computer.
    12-30-08 12:16 AM
    thanks alot warwick!

that means I can use the browser to install OTA 3rdp apps directly on my bberry but I better not use the phone to make calls except passed 6pm when my call plan gives me unlimited calls.
    12-30-08 07:59 AM
    UMA means I can get reliable service despite living in the deep fringe reception area. One bar would be a good day, often no signal at all.