I was thinking, that you get umlimted facebook, myspace, twitter and so on. is their a app that works with the unlimited section of you plan but is a INTERNET browser so you are not using the browser on your blackberry
    01-25-11 02:15 PM
    Facebook, my space and twitter are under social networking, while internet uses your data plan. So that's a silly question now is it?

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    01-25-11 02:17 PM
    I mean is their a way to bypass that and make the phone or server thinking you are using a social networking app but really you are using a Internet browser
    01-25-11 02:19 PM
    You will not be able to use the browser if you have a Social Plan. You need a BIS plan to use the browser.

01-25-11 02:21 PM
    I am new to this but what does BIS mean?
    01-25-11 02:25 PM
    What is BIS?
    BIS stands for BlackBerry Internet Service. It gives your BlackBerry access to the Internet. It’s like an ISP, but for your smart-phone instead of your home computer. Every time your BlackBerry gets an email, or accesses a webpage, it does so through BIS (unless you’re using BES)
    Last edited by valorian; 01-25-11 at 02:29 PM.
    01-25-11 02:27 PM
    So all apps i should be able to use free of extra charges like bbm msn facebook twitter and so on
    01-25-11 02:33 PM
    So all apps i should be able to use free of extra charges like bbm msn facebook twitter and so on
    What carrier do you have, and what kind of data plan do you have? Some Canadian carriers offer Social Plans that include BBM, Facebook, and IM. These do not include browsing.

US carriers require the BIS plan for any of RIM's native apps, so none of the above will work if you have a US carrier and do not have a BIS plan.

You need to contact your carrier to get the pricing of the proper plan and add the plan to your account. It will not be free. For instance, I pay $30/month for my BIS data plan.

01-25-11 02:39 PM