Hi CB users!

I'm new to the forums and that's because I plan on purchasing a new BlackBerry and I need help with a couple questions that I can't seem to find answers for...any help is appreciated!

1)I live in Canada but I attend school in the states, so I'm looking to buy a BlackBerry on EBAY that I can unlock or is unlocked so I can use when I am at school and at home....

Now I know that this phone will have to use a SIM card, so that rules out any CDMA phones like the tour. But both the Curve 8900 and Bold 9700 use sim cards right, so it's as easy as simply having two carriers, one in the US and one in Canada, and I can switch my two SIM cards depending on wherever I am. Is this right?

2) Also, I will not be getting a data plan because I am a student and simply can't afford it. However, I think alot of my friends can still access the internet and Facebook and such using the Wi-Fi on their Blackberry's on campus. I have read though that if you don't have a data plan this feature is still inaccessible. Can someone answer this? And if it helps I will be going AT&T because their prepaid phone contracts use SIM cards (right? lol).

3) Also, Does BBM only work with a Data Plan, like can I use it while using Wi-Fi?

Those are the three general questions that I am really trying to figure out so that I know I am not wasting my money. Thanks in advance for all your help!!
    Last edited by stuarts; 07-12-10 at 03:47 PM.
    07-12-10 03:41 PM
    1) buy an unlocked device and use it on T-mobile (GSM) they will not require you to use a BIS/BES plan, most other companies will require the use of a smartphone package on any smart phone
    2) Wi-Fi will not be sufficient for most applications you will need a BIS/BES plan to make them work.
    3) BBM only works over BIS/BES devices.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    07-12-10 03:55 PM