My Verizon Wireless Tour with recently sustained water damage after unfortunately being submerged in a pool for a few seconds.

The phone will boot into the OS and still has the correct number of unread messages listed on the top of the home screen, so I believe the on-board data has at least been partially retained. But the keyboard, side buttons, and trackball are nonfunctional. Furthermore, when I connect the phone to my computer via USB, Windows reports the device as malfunctioning, so I of course cannot utilize Blackberry Desktop Software to retrieve any data. Most of what I need is buried in various SMS messages, but I would of course like to retrieve everything

My only thought is to somehow remove the on-board flash memory from the damaged blackberry and transplant it into another device. I'm wondering how difficult this is if it is even feasible, as I have no knowledge of the architecture of the device. If anyone has done this or has any other ideas for retrieving the data, your responses would be very much appreciated. Thank you.
    05-30-12 01:36 PM
    I have not got a answer to your question but it may be worth considering that if you are going to get another BlackBerry and you had BlackBerry Protect installed your data will be synced to the new device.
    All I can offer i am afraid.
    05-30-12 03:31 PM
    Is your BlackBerry smartphone associated with a BlackBerry Enterprise Server? If yes, almost all content should be recoverable when you reactivate the smartphone or a new smartphone associated with the same email address. nIf no, situations like you encountered are the reason BlackBerry Protect should be enabled on the smartphone for BlackBerry Internet Service subscribers and its features w.r.t. backups enhanced to grab everything except applications.