Hi guys,

I'm very new to the whole blackberry smartphone thing, but I recently made the switch to a Bold 9700 on Telus and I couldn't be more pleased.

Anyways, a bit of background info first. When I first received the phone and activated it, Telus made a mistake and gave me a PDA data plan rather than a Blackberry data plan. I used the phone for roughly one week with no access to data, and was able to successfully configure and connect to numerous WiFi hotspots including at home, school and work. The WiFi worked perfectly fine for web browsing, accessing the AppWorld and downloading Apps, using Apps such as ScoreMobile, and checking email.

I called Telus today inquiring why my data services were not working and they switched me over to the Blackberry Data Plan. I pulled the battery and restarted the hardware and the data plan works without a hitch. The problem now is that data seems to take priority over WiFi, and my WiFi, although it claims to be connected, will not work with any of my apps, browser or email. I've set my browser to a hotspot browser and attempted to disable the data temporarily via Manage Connections, but I continue to receive notifications that there is no network connection.

I would prefer to use the WiFi whenever it is available and reserve my data for when I have no choice, as it was working perfectly fine before. I've searched here and elsewhere online and have not found a solution yet. Most guides specify that under Manage Connections > Mobile Network Options there is an option to set WiFi to take preference, but I can't see this option under Manage Connections anywhere.

Sorry, I consider myself pretty tech savvy but these smartphones are uncharted territory for me! Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks!
    10-14-10 09:22 PM
    Options > Mobile Network > Connection Preference > Wi-Fi preferred

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    10-15-10 12:44 AM