I followed the instructions here:

http://forums.crackberry.com/f2/new-...-policy-34665/

After I did the "reset to factory" all was well and the firewall was disabled, and no red lock icon. Great, so I uninstalled the 4.5 from the PC and proceeded to downgrade back to 4.2 and BAM! That stupid firewall is enabled again w/ the red lock!!!

What else can get rid of this? I don't really want to leave the 4.5 OS on the phone (8310) because I plan to sell it, although... now that the release is "official" I suppose I could if all else fails?

Anyone got any other ideas? I'm NO expert when it comes to BB's.
    07-18-08 06:46 PM
    Believe it or not, I too am in the same situation. My phone says I have a policy, when in reality, I bought this phone BRAND NEW.

I still have to give the link a shot, wish me luck
    07-18-08 07:00 PM
    Well, this phone was used on a BES so that is where the actual policy came from. The IT policy is gone, except for the remnants now affecting the firewall.
    07-18-08 07:07 PM
    Check out the link in my sig.
    07-18-08 07:26 PM
    Thanks but I tried that first before I followed the instructions in the above link using the resettofactory w/ the JavaLoader.

The problem isn't the IT policy.. if I go to the security settings, it does not show an IT policy, my problem now is getting rid of the firewall. It is stuck at enabled w/ a red lock.
    07-18-08 07:31 PM
    Thanks but I tried that first before I followed the instructions in the above link using the resettofactory w/ the JavaLoader.

The problem isn't the IT policy.. if I go to the security settings, it does not show an IT policy, my problem now is getting rid of the firewall. It is stuck at enabled w/ a red lock.
    You have to use THIS and ressettofactory. That is going to be the only way. It has remnants of an old policy.

edit: what OS are you running??
    07-18-08 07:39 PM