Purchasing a Blackberry has been suggested to me by several people to the point where it seems like the right decision for me. I have done some research (including great insights on this site) and have wittled the decision down to a Curve 8310, 8320 or 8820.

Given that I do not need the device for work (I am a teacher) I do not want to pay an arm and a leg for a new device. I have been scouring ebay and local "Used" sites and there is a ton out there.

I do not, however, want to end up buying a phone that ends up not working with my Rogers (Canada) plan.

So I guess the question is whether ebay sellers (and others) who advertise "unlocked" or "open" Blackberries really have units that I can simply slip a SIM card into and start using it? I have noticed also that some sellers do not include many accessories or software, which raises a red flag for me.

Any advice or link to a thread where this has been discussed would be most appreciated.

ML
    07-15-08 08:54 AM
    i think you should be alright, just prefer a brand new unlocked device.
    usually all should be good, but sometimes, especially if the phone is used, you will need to have the previous carrier release the imei
    07-15-08 08:57 AM
    Welcome to CrackBerry.

Buying a phone from eBay has it challenges, but the feedback system does work for you.

The well established seller can be counted on to supply exactly what they describe. Their ongoing reputation depends on it.

A less well established seller gives you more grounds for pause, but you will still have payment protection if you use PayPal. If there are any disputes over the merchandise, they will hold back payment until you are satisfied.

Buying from other sources offers less protection. A lot of the BlackBerrys listed on Craigs list are legitimate, but there are likely to be stolen and otherwise misrepresented devices. There is not protection once you hand over the cash.

This will help, BlackBerrys advise on buying used.