Hey guys, first post on BB an a complete newbie to all this stuff.

I have to buy a smart phone for school next year and decided that I want a BB. I really want the Tour/Bold 2 but won't go there!

I am thinking about buying a Tour 9630 off ebay so I don't have to pay the $500 from verizon since I'm not eligible for an upgrade.

If I buy a phone off ebay, how do I get it activated? If I just take it to a verizon store will they do it?

What should I be looking at when buying a BB (used or new) off ebay? Are there things that I should be looking for that would steer new away from a certain phone and point new to another?

Any info on buying off ebay and getting phones activated would be great! Thanks guys!
    02-27-10 12:12 PM
    If you buy anything from ebay, make sure the seller has a high positive rating. Also, use Paypal so you can get a refund if there is any problem with the phone.
    02-27-10 12:15 PM
    One more thing, you can get a warranty from SquareTrade to have some protection if your phone breaks.
    02-27-10 12:16 PM
    Yes you can take it to Verizon to get it activated
    02-27-10 12:22 PM
    I've bought a BB off ebay in the past and it was a great experience.

My first advice is not to rush! Make sure the listing has up close pictures. So you can see any physical defects up close. If the seller doesn't have many pictures, ask for more. If not, or they do not want to provide more pictures, move on to the next listing (trust me, there will be plenty more).

And always follow your gut instincts. If the deal is too good to be true, it probably is. Of course, we all want the cheapest BB we can find, but sometimes too cheap is a red flag. Especially if there are no other bidders.