Hello,

Newbie here: my name's Dan

Just bought Wifey a 9800 Torch (she needed a new phone and couldn't wait for Torch 2, although when my iphoney contract is up, we'll see )

Now, both of us are Blackberry virgins - know very little about them, however so far the set up and running of the 9800 has been brilliant.

Blackberry Messenger - what are the pros & cons of this service? Want to use it, but need to find out why!!

Had a quick search, but only usage threads seem to crop up.....

Dan
    05-04-11 06:04 AM
    Only con I can think of is it's only for BB users right now.

Pros:
    Free
    No 140 Character limit
    Delivery/Read notification things
    There's more, I know it, It's just too early for me too think more.
    05-04-11 06:50 AM
    thanks for this

What about using across different countries? Do any messages (unlike sms) just get handled through the Blackberry servers? No additional costs etc, nor going through multiple providers (eg Vodafone & Movistar in Spain)....

Dan
    05-04-11 07:28 AM
    pros: everything

cons: none

if you have friends with BBM anywhere in the world, you can "chat" with them for free. have a live conversation send pictures and video at NO cost. .75$ for an sms outside the country! who sms any more?!?!?!

By FAR the best thing, is being able to send voice notes across the globe at no charge to you. You can "almost" have a voice conversation with your friend without using any long distance minutes. Menu - Send Voice note - Play friends voice note - repeat.
    ScoobyDoo555 likes this.
    05-04-11 08:04 AM
    Nice one
    05-04-11 08:15 AM
    Pro -- always on/doesn't sign out on you like many im clients do

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    05-04-11 08:17 AM
    Interesting post over on support forums @ Blackberry about "international use of BBM" - can't post link as I'm still a noob.

According to this, the international use of BBM will incur costs.....

True or not?
    05-04-11 08:41 AM