Ok, folks, I am somewhat new to the Blackberry and RIM's OS.

I have played in the embedded micros world for some time, from a hobbyist's perspective, coding in ASM, and other languages. I have never really dabbled with the higher level OS', however, except for gaining some exposure to the win32 world.

What I am struggling with is the Memory Model that Blackberrys employ, from a user's perspective.

Possessing enough knowledge to realize that there is only a fixed set of resources that a handheld computing device can possess, I went in search of some memory management tools.

I have tried out many: MemoryUp, MemoryBooster, Aerize Optimizer, Quickpull, etc.

Each seems to have it's own set of features and what not.

What I am finding really frustrating is that there is not a single instance where two of the tools reported similar results. I am finding that I am even more confused than I had previously thought I was when I started this endeavor.

This is only compounded by delving into the escreen JVM management UI and seeing yet another figure quantified for memory that contrasts all of the others pretty sharply.

I have an 8350i. The only known is that the device's literature and many websites report that it has 128M of memory. I presume that it is flash that is being quantified by that figure.

Does anyone know of a reputable reference that would clearly explain what the memory model is for the device (ROM/Flash/Ram), the OS, and the JVM, so that I can get my gray matter wrapped around what each of these tools might be useful for?

Thanks, in advance.

-t
    09-18-10 09:14 PM
    Beginning BlackBerry Development - Google Books

there are some interesting nuggets in there that might help you understand a little bit more about how blackberrys work

and I am sorry you have a 8350i
    09-18-10 09:18 PM
    Thanks, Fubaz, for the pointer. Book d/l'g now.

...and I am sorry you have a 8350i