Hey there guys,

So I'm new to the BB and all things that go along with it. I haven't even really had a cell phone before so I'm in all at once here.

I have some general questions on a few things so if you have the answer, then shoot them my way! Thanks!

1) What is the difference between SMS and MMS?

2) What EXACTLY counts towards your data plan?? I am in Canada and on Bell and as you know we get shafted with data plans.. I have a measly 4mb and all I have done is check golf scores once and I'm almost at 1mb already. Does the act of simply GETTING an E-mail count towards it? So if you got spammed a lot your data goes up.. etc.. etc..

Does Texting count towards data usage even if you have an unlimited texting option on your contract?

Is there a way to find out exactly WHAT contributed to your data usage for the day. For example, a list that tells you, 1MB emails, 1MB internet, 2MB program downloads.. etc..etc..

3) I'm assuming it's possible to use the BlackBerry Destop Manager to load apps like the facebook app and the Messenger app without having to use my phone. Which, in turn, should avoid using up the next to no data that I have available to me right?

Actually my most pressing questions really revolve around DATA usage I guess by looking at it. I have 150 minutes of local or long distane call time and unlimited after 6pm and I think that will be just fine for me so far.

The only thing that really has me worried is the DATA costs I guess.. it isn't cheap and it costs a ton for VERY little.

I just want to be able to do my talking.. send my texts.. and once in a while check the net (maybe once every couple days) without getting completely raped but I'm paying a good chunk of money for what I feel is very little right now.

And it basically boils down to DATA.. it's just annoying me and it's the only thing dragging down the purchase of my first BlackBerry ever.
    04-12-08 03:56 PM
    Oh another quick question,