HI all, I'm an older tech challenged guy who just got his first blackberry (8820). Mainly wanted it fot the keyboard and occasional wifi but the blue tooth and gps were interesting too. So last night I fire up the 8820 and start playing with the wifi on my home network. Today I wake up to an email from ATT saying the recognized my smart phone and I needed to sign up for their $$ blackberry data plan and a new texting plan. I'm not a cheap guy but plan to use the wifi feature maybe once a month. Texting maybe 10x month. The $55/month increase to do this in nuts for my situation. Do I need to do a blackberry specific data plan? What triggered them knowing? Any way around it by using a different browser or..?

Any advice very much appreciated. Love the device but will sell it off and go back to my old clunker Nokia 3100 vs being held hostage and doubling my monthly bill for cadillac services.

Thanks in advance,

Dave
    12-19-10 07:12 AM
    Unfortunatly Dave, they have you by the jewels. Att can tell what device you are using by its electronic signature which enery phone has. The only way that I know of to get them off you back is to have a grandfathered plan. Obviously you don't and att has a policy that all new smart phones must have a smartphone plan. The other major carriers also have this requirement.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    12-19-10 07:33 AM
    Yep. AT&T implemented a policy in September 2009. Any BlackBerry or smartphone activated on their network after than requires a data plan.

They will add the highest plan if you don't add one of the lower ones first.

There's no work around other than using a different device.

They can tell what device it is by the IMEI number.
    12-19-10 08:20 AM