Its my understanding from reading many of the posts on these forums that the BlackBerry user community really holds security close to their hearts. Often, its quoted as the critical difference between BB10 and other smartphone OS's.

So how is it that leaked OS's and Android APKs from unreliable sources seem to be such a central part of this community? Putting anything on your BlackBerry except from the most pristine of sources is just such a security risk, that I'm having difficulty reconciling the security focus of the community with this behaviour.

I don't want to start a flame war or be critical or anything. As a developer, I am genuinely interested as to why this is happening?
    12-24-13 05:13 AM
    Its my understanding from reading many of the posts on these forums that the BlackBerry user community really holds security close to their hearts. Often, its quoted as the critical difference between BB10 and other smartphone OS's.

So how is it that leaked OS's and Android APKs from unreliable sources seem to be such a central part of this community? Putting anything on your BlackBerry except from the most pristine of sources is just such a security risk, that I'm having difficulty reconciling the security focus of the community with this behaviour.

I don't want to start a flame war or be critical or anything. As a developer, I am genuinely interested as to why this is happening?
    You do realize that CrackBerry represents a minuscule fraction of actual BlackBerry users and only a portion of those who frequent this site actually loads the leaks, right?
    12-24-13 05:26 AM
    People doing so should know the risks and are proceeding anyway. Just like anything else in life. There is a nice disclaimer everytime you install an APK. Like mentioned we arent the typical user and most wont do any sideloading of bars and APKs. They will be content with the security of BB world
    12-24-13 06:23 AM