Hi, I'm new to this crackberry thing? so please be nice as I know I may be asking stupid questions..

I have a blackberry bold 9000 and the other day on my way home from work my drink must have spilt in my bag and my phone was damaged (during the rain aswell) I went to get my phone within 5 mins of putting it in it and then obviously started freaking out..

I tried wiping off any of the water that was on the outside and tried running home to take it apart and see the damage.. there was quite a bit of water inside and the keyboard was typing double letters so I had to look up how to take it apart (which obv took time) and my dad is better with fixing things so I asked him to take it apart for me.. Stupidly because of freaking out about whether or not it would work again, I didn't think to look at what to do when the phone gets wet and just assumed taking it apart and removing the water was the main priority and would determine what permanent damage had been done.. so obviously kept putting the battery back in..

After, all the buttons work but the trackball won't scroll down (which I havn't found one other person reporting from water damage?) It scrolls in every other direction fine even up but just won't show it's going down on the screen.. I tried drying it for about 10 mins with a hair dryer whilst scrolling around the trackball and still nothing..

I just want to know if its likely the water has short circuited it and if there is any salvaging it? even with a cost? Can I send it to blackberry to be repaired or anything?

I've had the phone for less than a year and I love it so I really don't want to have to buy a new one..

I realise this is a really long message lol sorry.. I'm done now, please help
    08-30-10 04:37 PM
    Putting the battery back in before the device had dried out all the way (4 - 5 days) likely made the damage permanent.

But read this.

And this.

08-30-10 04:52 PM