My kid would love to have a blackberry just... just because!

I won't pay for a dataplan for her and she can't afford on her own, but that's ok because ALL of what she really wants it for texting and voice calling (and maybe games, music, etc.).

So... here are my questions:

- Is any Blackberry usable without a data plan (i.e. do SMS, voice call and use other features of the phone)?

- If this is a blackberry with WiFi, will the WiFi work for web browsing and email even if there are no data plan?

- Can access to Data access through the mobile network be turned off (either on the phone or by the operator - AT&T in this case) to prevent "accidental" data charges?

Anything else I should have asked that I can't thing about because I am a total newbie with BlackBerries (I just got my Bold a week ago and so far I love it).

Txs.
    05-01-09 07:22 PM
    I cant say for ATT but for me a Sprint man for 10 yrs. You gotta get the data pack it's worth it in the long run. I believe there was a post about 1 month ago about dataplan or not to data plan and the response was WWWWAAAY for the data plan, it makes the BB useless or just plain blah not to, but smile maybe she will give it to you and you can get the data plan and booom (JOHN MADDEN) you get the full benifits of owning this HOTTT PHONE
    05-01-09 09:31 PM
    As her mom, it's up to you to decide whether or not your daughter should have data on her phone. You'll read many post around here that state a BB w/O data is pointless.

I say get it, if she abuses it in any way, take the phone from her.
    05-01-09 09:33 PM
    My kid would love to have a blackberry just... just because!

I won't pay for a dataplan for her and she can't afford on her own, but that's ok because ALL of what she really wants it for texting and voice calling (and maybe games, music, etc.).

So... here are my questions:

- Is any Blackberry usable without a data plan (i.e. do SMS, voice call and use other features of the phone)? yes