Hi,

I am new to Blackberry devices. After a long struggle between iphone 3G and bold, I have decided to go get a bold tomorrow. I have read the posts with regards to BIS. It seems that there is no other alternative in getting mail pushed to the device for a lower cost. The monthly data plans that include BIS in Australia aren't exactly cheap. I was wondering if there is a solution for Blackberry comparable to Microsoft direct push. I use a MSN web-based email account.

iPhone has an easy setup with email that uses the data line only i.e. checks every 15min or so (or whenever you like), then syncs it with web-based email, like gmail. But this only works for gmail and yahoo. I know this will entail having GPRS on "always on mode" and may suck battery life. If there is no solution similar to Direct Push, is there an application that I can install that is similar to iphone system?

Thanks for your help.
    08-27-08 09:32 AM
    Regardless of which method you use, I believe you will still need a data plan to receive the mail from the push source. If you do not have a data plan, you will still pay for the bandwidth used to receive the mail messages.
    08-27-08 09:41 AM
    There are pobably some way around the BIS issues such as browsing to an ISP or work email account. This reduces the functionallity, since you are using the browser to look at email that is not set up for mobile browsing. Also, without a data plan, there will be line charges for browsing. So if you pay for data for the internet it should also include email.

Another option that may be available (it is for TMO) is email only, which is $9.99 US vs. $19.99 US for the full BB (is that like the Full Monty? ).
    08-27-08 10:31 AM
    BES & BIS is the Hallmark of Blackberry devices. There really is no workaround.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    08-27-08 11:01 AM