Hello! I am completely new to the Blackberry world so please excuse me if this question seems silly:

I am currently a Verizon user, and I'm due for a phone upgrade very soon. I want to get a Blackberry, but the more I look into Verizon's options for Blackberry plans the more I feel like I may want to switch carriers if I'm going to get a Blackberry. My issue is that I would like to be able to use BBM while I'm abroad for about 6 months, but the man in the Verizon store told me I'd have to get the $65 data plan to do this. This shocked me because I have a friend who is a T-Mobile Blackberry user, who says that his international BBMs are free without having an international data plan. Also, I'm between the new Curve and the Tour. Is it true that if I get the Curve there is no way to ever use it internationally?

In a nutshell, I wanted to ask you guys what your opinions are on which carriers offer the cheapest way to get the international data use (I don't need international calling or anything - BBM would be enough). Any help would be greatly appreciated!!! Thank you
    03-09-10 12:22 PM
    If you get the new Curve on Verizon, no you will not be able to use it internationally. It is a CDMA phone only, and most of the rest of the world is GSM. The Tour and Storm 2 both are capable of both CDMA and GSM.

If you want Verizon as your carrier and to be abroad, yes you will have to use the $65 international plan. BBMs can be sent internationally, but for you to use BBM on Verizon in another country, no they will not be free. If you want to have a local (to the country) plan, IF they offer BIS you can use BBM that way. Many times this is depending on the country and the carrier, and many times is not for a pre-paid service, but you must open a contract in that country. Which carrier depends on where you are going and what you are looking for.
    03-09-10 01:04 PM