For a while now, I've found single platform messaging applications frustration and subsequently useless. I use to love BBM when I was a user and had all my friends on it and of course of the years most have migrated elsewhere. So now users are on several other applications (Whatsapp, Google Hangouts, KIK to name a few). While I found these applications a little more hlepful since they weren't limited to 1 platform I still didn't like the fact that I needed to use more than 1 app to chat with people--regular SMS and whatever other app I was using. Because of this I didn't use them at all. But I recently started playing around more with facebook messenger and I have to tell you that it's great. The great thing about it is that I can use it as my SMS/MMS app as well. Using 1 app that consolidates all my conversations across 2 differernt sets of users is great. And I don't have to go asking people to download an app and add me and such. Google Hangouts is rumored to eventually have this functionality as well and I gotta say that BBM will definitely need it at some point to really take back the crown as the best messaging application. Now this works for me because all my friends are always logged into facebook or just regular SMSers but just the convenience of having 1 app for both is great.

What will make BBM great, is not how good it is as a standalone app but how well it integrates into what people already. Now I'm sure it will get a huge download spike when it first comes out but I would think that users (who don't already have or love BBM) would find it pointless to download an additional application to talk to people I already talk to on other apps. So here's hoping that not only BBM is awesome when it comes out, but it integrates well into what we're already doing to really make it better. Integration into existing SMS/MMS would definitely make this a great option but standalone, not really sure. Here's hoping for the best.
    anon6113468 likes this.