Howdy,

The short version is I have a 9530 with no service and I started looking at the available choices, all way too expensive.

Is there a smartphone that works strickly with skype and wifi? With things getting smaller, is there anything on the horizon, like replacing the sim card with a wifi card or an external wifi adaptor for the micro usb?

I am a computer tech specializing in the repair of laptop/desktops for the non-profit sector. About cell phones I am clueless

thanks
    08-15-10 12:58 PM
    You could get an ipod touch and use skype over wifi with it. Other than that, a blackberry isn't a good choice to have for just wifi because some apps won't work without the data plan and bis is needed for a full blackberry experience.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    08-15-10 01:06 PM
    Thanks for the reply.

Sadly, most phones are out of my price range, retirement is a pain. I figured if I have a phone and put skype on it I could get around the phone companies. Even though it is a smart phone I don't know if I will ever need a data plan as most of my time I have lots of options for data.

Still researching, not that I am living up to my nickname but I just discovered the BB desktop.
    08-15-10 01:28 PM