This may be a dumb question. But I'm knew to the bb world, would some explain to me exactly what does a battery pull do? It seems to be the suggestion to fix many problems with the phone. Thanks in advance.
    04-19-09 04:09 PM
    It's not a dumb question, I'm new to BB myself, and recently stumbled across this forum about battery pulls: http://forums.crackberry.com/f52/wtf...-hunger-43060/
    04-19-09 04:15 PM
    Its a reset of your device if you are experiencing problems or want free up memory on you device. Its often the first step in trouble shooting a problem

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    04-19-09 04:16 PM
    04-19-09 06:05 PM
    You can also use Soft Reset but I prefer QuickPull myself.

04-19-09 06:28 PM
    I don't trust QuickPull to do the exact same thing as a battery pull. I do a battery pull once a day, no matter what.

I wouldn't leave my computer on without shutting it down or resetting it for days. So I won't do that with a Blackberry.
    04-19-09 06:36 PM
    All computers have a power on start-up. In BlackBerry case, it does a through cleaning of the memory by purging caches and temporary files.

A fresh start, just the way the geeks at BlackBerry planned it.

I am conducting some stress testing, my fully active Pearl is working on maxing out the time up counter.

Memory management is in the hands of the experts.
    04-19-09 07:12 PM
    What's the difference between the Quick Pull and Soft Reset applications?
    04-19-09 07:16 PM
    Nothing. Its just a way of physically taking the battery out and doing it via software or simulate the reset.

04-19-09 07:31 PM
    Nothing. Its just a way of physically taking the battery out and doing it via software or simulate the reset.

That's what I thought ... it made me wonder how someone could prefer one over the other. Thanks.
    04-19-09 07:34 PM
    Definately download QuickPull. It's a terrific app, I use it just about everyday.
    04-19-09 07:38 PM