Hey,

Im new to all this.
    I would really like to run AIM over my WiFi on my BOLD for AT&T...

Can someone please help me.
    02-16-09 09:01 PM
    I'm guessing you don't want to get the data package for your phone. But the only app that I am aware that you can do this with is BeeJive. It is a one time $20 or $30 with a transferable license.
    02-16-09 09:10 PM
    yea i dont want to buy the BB plan or any internet plan from AT&T. so this app will run on my BB enabling me to use AIM over WiFi correct?
    02-16-09 09:14 PM
    Yes. You just need to go in to the preferences and switch to "wifi preferred". There is a free 30 day trial I believe.
    02-16-09 10:17 PM
    Beejive is great. I got the 30 day trial and ended up buying the software. I do have an unlimited data plan, but if I'm in a dead zone (yes, they still exist in some places), but there is a Wi-Fi connection, I'm golden.

Chris
    02-16-09 11:23 PM
    wow,
    thank you so much.

This helped so much!
    02-17-09 07:20 PM
    i have BIS, but if i'm connected via wi-fi and im using the native AIM client, i'm not using up data charges, right?
    02-17-09 07:40 PM
    what is AIM? can someone explain it to me?
    02-17-09 07:49 PM
    i have BIS, but if i'm connected via wi-fi and im using the native AIM client, i'm not using up data charges, right?
    You are in a way because I beleive the native app uses texts.
    02-17-09 08:03 PM
    what is AIM? can someone explain it to me?
    It's a popular Instant Messaging program.
    Instant Messenger - AIM - Instant Message Your Online Buddies for Free - AIM
    02-17-09 08:04 PM
    You are in a way because I beleive the native app uses texts.
    I don't have my BB yet but what is the native IM client? I thought I remember seeing an AIM client on the blackberry website. I figured that would use data rather than SMS.