Can anyone provide some much needed help?

Background:
    - I am moving to the US in Sept (from UK).
    - I am trying to set up my home business office needs over there in advance of the move.
    - I use a Mac at my home office.
    - Currently use mac mail (but thinking of getting Outlook).
    - As you will guess from my questions below I am not very tech savvy!
    - Looking into what devices I can use when travelling

Questions regarding Blackberry and Mac:
    1. I will need to be able to access my business e-mails, review them and send them from a device. Also when I get back to my home office I would want my e-mail system to show that the e-mails have been reviewed and sent (so I don't have to do the job twice!). Does the Blackberry provide all this functionality?
    2. Noticed something about BIS. Is this what provides the above functionality? Seems that BES is for big companies and would cost a lot?
    3. I also will need to be available by phone. Does the Blackberry provide this?
    3. What ever device I have needs to work in the US and UK (as I will be working in both countries). Does the Blackberry work in both countries?
    4. When travelling I would also want to forward my home business number to the Blackberry so anyone calling me at the home office would be forwarded to me on the road. Does the Blackberry provide this functionality?
    5. Will I need to get Outlook for my e-mail rather than the mac mail I use now? Does Outlook work better with the Blackberry?
    6. From surfing around it appears there are problems with Blackberry and Mac interface??? What are the main issues and can they be solved? Given I already have a Mac is a Blackberry still the best device for my needs?
    7. Is there a particular Blackberry model that best meets my needs?
    8. Any advice on price plans to go with as new to all this! Given my profile of what and where will be using the Blackberry what plan would you suggest?