Hi, ive been reading, and its hard to make sense of the answers, but here are a few questions i have.
    I just bought a 8820 and will be using it without a data plan. Can I use the wifi to do the following:
    1. browse internet
    2. check gmail, hotmail, unversity email account
    3. use google apps (type up word docs etc)
    4. use facebook
    5. msn messenger.
    6. use GPS (and is there a way to do turn by turn directions without subscribing to telenav? is there a way to somehow save maps so that they can be viewed offline?)

im a university student, and 98% of my campus has wireless coverage. thank you guys for your help.
    12-10-07 02:04 PM
    Hi, ive been reading, and its hard to make sense of the answers, but here are a few questions i have.
    I just bought a 8820 and will be using it without a data plan. Can I use the wifi to do the following:
    1. browse internet
    2. check gmail, hotmail, unversity email account
    3. use google apps (type up word docs etc)
    4. use facebook
    5. msn messenger.
    6. use GPS (and is there a way to do turn by turn directions without subscribing to telenav? is there a way to somehow save maps so that they can be viewed offline?)

im a university student, and 98% of my campus has wireless coverage. thank you guys for your help.
    I assume you should be able to do all the above if you can get your wifi to connect. As far as GPS is concern, you can get the map onto your BB with the following link http://forums.crackberry.com/f33/how-get-bb-maps-your-8800-a-254/"]http://forums.crackberry.com/f33/how-get-bb-maps-your-8800-a-254/
    12-10-07 02:20 PM
    my understanding is that blackberry maps still requires a data connection to get the maps. can i get a program where i can just dl the maps onto my blackberry so that when im on the road i dont need an active data connection?
    12-10-07 09:09 PM