I recently purchased a blackberry curve 9300 3G and in the top right hand corner "3G" is constantly there. Being a complete newb when it comes to blackberry's I am unsure of what this means! Does it mean that my internet is being constantly drained even when I have nothing running? I have 250 mb allowed each month when it comes to internet and really cannot afford to over-run if this is the case - is it? OR is my internet only "taken" when I click on the internet? I hope this makes sense. PLEASE someone help! Also when I receive a facebook notification to my phone, click on it - is that taking internet as well??
    09-14-11 04:02 PM
    Your internet is only "taken" when you use an application that requires an internet connection. The 3G means that you are in an area where you have 3G coverage, as opposed to the slower 2G GPRS and EDGE, the phone is simply showing you what coverage it has.

As for the Facebook question, yes, Facebook requires an internet connection.

I only have a 500MB data allowance per month, I am a fairly heavy mobile internet user but still hardly make a dent in it, I wouldn't worry too much.
    Last edited by GreenBerry84; 09-14-11 at 04:35 PM.
    09-14-11 04:33 PM
    Thank you so much for the speedy and informative response!

See I wouldn't say I am a heavy internet user - I'm merely using it to open up and email when I've been sent one or click on a facebook notification to see what it is.

In this sense, do you think 250MB is more than enough per month?
    09-14-11 04:49 PM
    Aliens.
    -------
    Are all your posts this useless and beyond off topic? No wonder you have such a high post count...

OP, if you just do a few things like email and Facebook, you'll be fine with 250MB.

You can always check with your carrier each week or so throughout the month. Most you can just go online and check there.
    diegonei likes this.
    09-14-11 10:21 PM
    else if you wish to save your quota, u can always log on to wifi =)