11-08-10 12:41 AM
39 12
tools
    I'm not a businessman. I work in construction. Specifically, I am a commercial roofer.

The other day, I encountered a problem which I did not want to take responsibilty for without authorization from my supervisor. He couldn't get out to the site for a few hours, and it was something that needed to be dealt with fairly urgently. Since I was having a tough time adequetely describing the problem, I put my super on speakerphone, snapped a few pics with my torch, then e-mailed them to his computer. It was a process that took less than a minute, and we were able to work out a solution shortly thereafter. I had the problem solved, and the authorization to make the necessary fixes in a timely manner.

How long would it have taken me to pull out a digital camera, snap those same pics, pull out a netbook/laptop, boot it up, hook up via usb the camera, upload the pics to the computer, then hammer out and send the e-mail?

Let's forget the fact that in addition to my tools, lunch, and materials, you would have me carry a laptop/netbook onto a construction site where it would need to be kept in a secure case to protect it from dust, debris, and some minor (or major) jostling, and potential theft.

Get rid of my BlackBerry? I don't think so.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    11-05-10 08:14 PM
    Great idea and all, but I think I'll be keeping my Blackberry - I adore my laptop but it is certainly not a replacement for my phone, and vice versa.

Glad you are doing what works best for you, though
    11-05-10 08:50 PM
    I hear the trackball breaks easy
    software glitches when you upgrade
    11-05-10 10:20 PM
    A question to the thread starter: Why didn't you though of this when u were buying your BlackBerry? I am sure you first saw the features, and the prices for BIS?