A big hello to all the app developers out there (or those considering developing an app)! As a new Playbook owner, and the owner of several Blackberry phones in the past, I wanted to share some of my experiences and thoughts with you on the current state of the App World marketplace and how you can better market your apps and encourage sales.

I've been working as a marketer with a focus on the web for several years now, I have a background in design and development and a degree in Marketing. I'm certainly not the end-all and be-all when it comes to selling mobile apps, but I have learned a few things that I hope will help you make a bit more money (and in turn will make for a better app ecosystem for us all). Anyone interested in chiming in with your thoughts or things I might have missed, please chime in!

1. Offer a Trial version.
    I don't want to pay for your app unless it has incredible reviews across the board and there are multiple screenshots that shows me what it does (as well as a long description). Still, I'm MUCH more likely to buy and be satisfied if I can try it first, than I am to buy it for a couple of bucks and hate it (plus I'll leave you a negative review if it doesn't do what you say it does). I also encourage time-limited trials with full functionality (or, for games, a certain number of levels free), though the exact route you take will depend on your app, its features/benefits/value, and so forth.

2. Write a complete, clear description, and include multiple screenshots
    Don't skimp on the descriptive information. Make sure it's clear and concise, with an introduction and a list of the top features that differentiate your app from others in the same category. Throw up plenty of screenshots that show all the different views in your app (e.g. main page, settings, article view, level selector, gameplay, etc.)

3. Provide a link to a dedicated website for the app