Hi.
    I am new to BB development(have been working on it for 3-4 days) and i am stuck with a problem. Here are the details of my IDE.
    I am using JDE 4.2.1 and running bb 8800 simulator.

My Project:
    I need to display bitmaps on a text field, be it basicedit, edit, richtext.
    I am extending EditField:

Code:
    public class CustomTextField extends  EditField implements KeyListener
    {
    and overriding the paint method and here is my main logic of drawing the bitmaps using g.drawBitmap

Code:
    protected void paint(Graphics g)
    {
         super.paint(g);
       g.drawBitmap(x, y, bitMap.getWidth(), bitMap.getHeight(),bitMap, 0, 0);
    }

I am creating a VerticalFieldManager and adding an instance of my CustomTextField:
    Code:
    manager = new VerticalFieldManager(Manager.VERTICAL_SCROLL|Manager.VERTICAL_SCROLLBAR);
     CustomTextField c2= new CustomTextField("T2:", "", 100,EditField.FOCUSABLE|EditField.FILTER_DEFAULT|EditField.FIELD_LEFT,30);
    manager.add(c2);
    With this much code only one line of my field is available, meaning when i draw bitmaps and i reach the end of the line, no new line gets inserted and i am still able to draw, or better, insert new bitmaps but they are not visible. But if i override layout:

Code:
    protected void layout(int width, int height)
    {
            setExtent(100,100);
    }
    I can view more lines but i am not able to scroll past the visible area.

Any advice/suggestions/hints as to how to view past the visible area will be greatly appreciated.
    Also, the edit fields default behavior is that when the inserted/typed text reaches the end of the line a new line gets inserted, pushing other fields below it down 1 line. I havent been able to provide this feature with my custom field. I would like to know how to do this.

I hope someone can help me out here.
    Thanks in advance!

Regards,
    hellcry.
    11-13-09 04:18 AM
    Hi,