NSBasic says their "App Studio" can create native BlackBerry apps via "PhoneGap." I was thinking about trying it. Does anyone have experience with it?

NS BASIC/App Studio for Mobile Devices
    10-13-11 11:27 AM
    Wow, that's a blast from the past. I used to use NSBasic when I did Windows CE apps. I liked it a lot. Your best bet is to skip NSBasic and go directly to PhoneGap and use Eclipse.
    10-20-11 10:36 PM
    I have been working with NS Basic App Studio for two years, since launch.

My thoughts are this:-

If you plan to do any kind of development which you want to look professional then forget App Studio. NS Basic App Studio has some major failings, number one on the list being documentation. The documentation supplied with App Studio is truly appalling, covering basic commands and functions only, and even then, not fully. The moment you want to dig deeper there is no help for you and even the writers of App Studio say "Search the Internet for answers". This makes App Studio a 'development' system for amateurs.

If your intention is to develop anything that remotely resembles a professional application then I am very sorry to say you will have to use something else.

I speak as a professional developer of 30 years experience, having developed on all sorts of platforms. We recently completed a project (not the way we wanted to due to the limitations) using NS Basic App Studio and it took a whole year to make. The equivalent in almost any other environment would have taken a matter of weeks. There were times when my team and I wanted to blow our brains out in frustration, mainly with the woeful documentation and zero support offered by NS Basic.