I've been using SplashID and syncing for several years successfully. I just updated DM to 5.0 and now get an error during sync. After all the Outlook stuff successfully syncs I get "One moment please..." as always, then the "Synchronization Failed" popup with "Technical details: Unspecified error". I suppose I could uninstall/reinstall SplashID but I'm hoping someone has a simpler, more direct solution.
    02-19-10 10:41 AM
    SplashID indicated that there is a known bug in the lastest BB DM. Dont' know when it will be fixed. So don't expect a fix from SplashID. Let's hope the next BB DM update will eliminate the bug.

So the workaround they suggested is to sync via WiFi.
    Open SplasID Desktop
    Open SplashID app on your device and initiate the sync from there. (hit BB menu and you'll see the command)

So BB DM is not involved at all. So you don't want BB DM open while syncing via WiFi.

In order to eliminate the error msg during your normal syncs for Outlook etc, you should uncheck "Run Add In Action" on the sync screen of BB BM.

Hope that makes sense.

Good Luck
    02-20-10 08:53 PM
    I have a Curve 8330. No WiFi. I plugged it in via USB and tried to follow your instructions but there's no sync option in the menu on my BB app. Also, I'm running SplashID 4.21 on my BB if that makes any difference. I used to directly sync my Moto Q while tethered via a menu command on the desktop but that doesn't seem to be on the BB Desktop app. Thanks.
    02-20-10 09:46 PM
    I have a Curve 8330. No WiFi. I plugged it in via USB and tried to follow your instructions but there's no sync option in the menu on my BB app. Also, I'm running SplashID 4.21 on my BB if that makes any difference. I used to directly sync my Moto Q while tethered via a menu command on the desktop but that doesn't seem to be on the BB Desktop app. Thanks.