Please help me, I'm new to BB. I have downloaded DM onto my PC (version 5.01) and am trying to connect my 8220 to it. When the DM opens up, it immediately greys out. I can see thru the grey that my phone is connected...the DM knows it is there, but because it is greyed out, I can't select an action and nothing works. Both the computer and the DM acknowledge that the phone is connected. What am I doing wrong? Do I need a different version of the DM?

Thanks in advance for any help!
    12-18-09 08:49 PM
    dm always greys out for a bit when you're opening the software and connecting the phone, or if you're leaving, say, roxio media manager to return to dm. sometimes it takes longer than other times to come back, and if you're on an older computer, it can take minutes at times.

if it doesn't become active again after five minutes, there's probably a problem. try restarting your computer to see if that helps. if not, uninstall dm and try to reinstall 5.01 or maybe even an older version to see if it gives you the same problems.

to add: if you could, please post up a little info about your computer (os, ram, etc etc). that could help narrow down whatever issue you may be having.
    12-19-09 01:46 PM
    Thanks for the info...I am running HP laptop - XP SP3, 2 gigs ram, AMD Athlon 64 processor 3500+ 2.19 GHz. I did wait a long time (it seemed) and it stayed grey. I installed an older version of the DM and it does the same thing. I went to Rogers today to see if they might know something. The rep said that the device software is too old for the DM to do anything with. Makes sense. So now I'm trying to update that...and running into the proverbial brick wall. I'm going to keep trying to troubleshoot, but any help at all would be greatly appreciated.