Hi,

I have tried many many times to upgrade my Torch 9810 to OS 7.1 but i can't because DM keeps freezing at the "smart card options" part. I've left it on for like 10 hours and nothing. I can do a backup if i use the custom method and untick "social feeds". It backs up in no time.

My question is if i do the custom method for backup, then upgrade to 7.1 without making a backup. Once it is done can i just restore the custom one i made before? Will all my info be there? Including third party apps? Or do i have to use BBSAK for the third party apps and the DM custom for contacts/messages etc. Or is there another progam i should use

I'm still relatively new to all this and this is my first time installing a new OS. I'm so very confused right now with all this. If DM wouldn't freeze I'd be fine but it does it every time. I love my BB I just don't want to mess it up and not be able to restore my stuff.
    If this question has been asked before i apologize, I couldn't find the answer to it.

Thanx a lot for your time & help
    R.
    03-18-12 11:46 AM
    Open Desktop->delete data->selective amd check off "smart card options" then delete them. Should repair the problem.

If you want to properly backup your 3rd party apps.....
    http://forums.crackberry.com/tips-ho...updated-53201/
    03-18-12 11:59 AM
    Thanx. I tried the Desktop->delete data->selective and check off "smart card options" method and it still does the exact same thing, freezes on "smart card options".

How about if i try deleting the social feeds option?
    03-18-12 12:33 PM
    OMG!

It actually worked. I'm amazed. I deleted BOTH "Smart Card Options" & "Social Feeds", now its doing a full backup (not custom, but full) as I'm typing this.

One more question then I promise I will leave you all alone. When i use apploader to install the new OS will it migrate all of my data & applications with it to the new OS?

Thanx SOOOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH FOR THE HELP
    R.